Gov Otti Reaffirms Commitment To Enhancing Road Safety Statewide


Abia state Governor Dr. Alex Otti has reiterated his administration’s unwavering dedication to bolstering road safety measures across Abia State.


Governor Otti made this known at Government House Umuahia, when he received the new state Sector Commander of the Federal Road Safety Corps(FRSC), Corps Commander Fredrick Ogidan.


The Governor emphasized that his administration has continued to show commitment in improving safety on the roads through ongoing efforts in road construction and rehabilitation in the state.


Represented by his Chief of Staff, Pastor Caleb Ajagba, Governor Otti, stressed the importance of collaboration between the state government and the Federal Road Safety Corps (FRSC) to conduct regular road audits and provide necessary infrastructures.

See also  Abia Legislator, Erondu Jnr Greets Nigerians At Democracy Day


He enjoined FRSC officials to be professional and more civil in dealing with road users and commuters.


The Governor while welcoming the new state sector commander to the state, commended the FRSC for its role in enhancing road safety, reducing accidents and fatalities and assured them of government’s continued support.


In their speeches, the Special Adviser to the Governor on Security Matters, Navy Commodore MacDonald Ubah (RDT), Senior Special Assistant to the Governor on Homeland Security, Fire and Emergency Services, Mr Chukwunenye Alajemba, the Director General, Abia State Orientation Agency, Pastor Dike Nwankwo praised FRSC for its efforts in promoting responsible driving and pledged collaboration.

See also  Death of Mr. Emmanuel Okocha: Disciplinary actions concluded - Abia State Police Command.


Commander Ogidan, in his address, urged road users to adhere strictly to traffic rules, emphasizing the importance of safe driving practices to save lives.


He commended Governor Otti’s developmental initiatives, particularly in road infrastructure, and expressed his commitment to working effectively with the current government.