Otti Inaugurates Nine-Man Digital Economy & SME’s Advisory Committee


Abia State Governor, Dr. Alex Chioma Otti has inaugurated a Nine-man Digital Economy and SME’s Advisory Committee to assist in the creation of state policy for Digital Economy and SME development.


The Committee is to be headed by the Commissioner for Digital Economy and SME Mr. Matthew Ekwuruibe while the Special Adviser to the Governor on Digital Economy Ms Elizabeth Chijioke would serve as the Secretary.


Inaugurating the Committee at Government House, Umuahia, Governor Alex Otti represented by the Chief of Staff Pastor Caleb Ajagba charged the committee members to use their knowledge and innovative thinking in driving the growth of the Digital Economy space.


The Governor urged them to utilize the opportunity and join hands with his administration to fashion out creative ideas that would drive the next phase of development in the digital space and for Abians.

See also  Abia Traditional Rulers' Chairman Commends Governor Otti's Inclusive Town Hall Meetings


He further reminded the Committee that they are required to think outside the box in order to bring up solution on how the products being manufactured in Aba the commercial hub of the State can get to the global space and promise to give them all the necessary support to make their job satisfactory.


The terms of reference given to the committee include; Adaptation and domestication of the Nigeria Start-Up Act, Development of strategies for attraction of funding and investment for Digital Economy and SME development, to assist in the development of Digital Taxation to generate revenue for social media and other digital taxes for the state among others.

See also  20 Abia Youths Begin Training Under NDE Vocational Skills


In his speech, the Chairman of the Committee, Mr. Matthew Ekwuruibe reiterated the readiness of the committee members to harness their talent in developing solution in the digital economy that works and reminded the committee of the great task ahead of them.


Responding on behalf of other members of the committee, the Vice Chairman, of the Committee Mr.Tochukwu Chukwueke thanked the Governor for finding them worthy to join the present administration in developing Abia and assured that they would do their best to ensure that the state maximizes it’s potentials to lead Nigeria, Africa and the World.

See also  Akwa Ibom: Gov Eno To Inaugurate 60 Metres Obot Akara Bridge On Thursday


Other members of the Committee include: Nnanna John, Dr.Ugboaja Samuel, Rev, Fr.Ikenna Nwagbara, Mr.Psalms Kalu, Dr.Odikwa Ndubuisi and Ojum Sandra.