Qatar 2022 FIFA World Cup: The First of a Kind

The finest of world footballers from 32 countries have converged on the Middle Easter country of Qatar for the 22nd edition of the FIFA World Cup. This is a special World Cup for so many reasons.
This is the first time the World Cup will be hosted by an Islamic country and the first time the World Cup will be taking place in the winter.
This is the first time women referees will be officiating at a men’s World Cup. Six female history-making officials from five confederations have been chosen by FIFA to be part of the officials for the month-long soccer fiesta. They are referees Stephanie Frappart from France, Yoshimi Yamashita from Japan and Salima Mukansanga from Rwanda, and assistant referees Neuza Back from Brazil, Karen Diaz Medina from Mexico and Kathryn Nesbitt from the USA.
For the first time, the five African representatives are coming to the World Cup with indigenous coaches. Rigobert Song will be in charge of the Indomitable Lions of Cameroon, Aliou Cisse is the gaffer of the Terenga Lions of Senegal, the Atlas Lions of Morocco are coached by Walid Regragui, the Black Stars of Ghana, who stopped Nigeria from qualifying for the World Cup are coached by Otto Addo, and Jalel Kadri is the Coach of the Carthage Eagles of Tunisia.
For the first time since 1978 reigning Ballon d’Or winner Karim Benzima will not be playing in the World Cup due to injury.
This is the most expensive World Cup with an estimated cost of $220. The last World Cup in Russia cost less than $15 Billion dollars.
Will this World Cup produce a first time champion? Only time shall tell but recall that only seven teams have won the 21 past editions of the World Cup. Brazil, who hold the record as the only team that have appeared in every edition of the World Cup, have won the World Cup five times with their last triumph coming twenty years ago in Korea/Japan 2002. Germany and Italy have won the World Cup four times respectively. Germany’s last win was in Brazil eight years ago while Italy last won the World Cup in 2006.
Argentina, France and Uruguay have won the World Cup twice respectively. Argentina last won the World Cup in 1986, Uruguay last won the World Cup in 1950 while France are the defending champions of this World Cup.
England and Spain complete the list of World Cup winners with a title each. England won on home soil in 1966 while Spain won the first World Cup hosted in Africa in 2010.
The opening match later today will see host and debutants Qatar take on Ecuador.