Prioritize Security, Welfare; Otti Tasks Newly inuagurated LG Leaders


Abia State Governor Dr. Alex Otti has inaugurated the Chairmen and Deputies of the 17 Local Government Transition Councils, urging them to develop initiatives in line with the state government’s agenda to rebuild the state.

Speaking during the inauguration ceremony here at the Micheal Okpara Auditorium, Umuahia, Governor Otti charged the newly sworn in officers to prioritize the security and welfare of the people of Abia as they pilot the affairs of the Local Government Councils.

“Your first task as leaders of the various LGAs shall include strengthening the security architecture in the towns and villages within your domain, especially as the yuletide approaches.


“As we have said on many occasions, no part of Abia, not an inch, shall be ceded to any group of criminals, whether they are armed robbers, kidnappers or any individual or group, whose actions threaten the peace in our communities“, the Governor stated.

He said that the government was working with multiple stakeholders including multi lateral agencies to develop a robust framework for addressing the critical challenges facing the citizens and added that government was desirous to accommodate the Local Government as new strategic partners in developing Abia.

The Governor described the swearing in of the TC Chairmen and their Deputies as a strategic step towards meeting the developmental needs of the state, adding that it would further enable the government to harness the numerous opportunities that abound in Abia.

See also  Delta Hajj Pilgrims Bag Saudi Arabia's Good Conduct Award


He said that he was delighted that the TC Chairmen and their deputies had accepted to serve the people of Abia with their extensive wealth of experience in various fields of human endeavours.

“To the new mayors and deputies, may I remind you that this is a call to serve and not to be served.


“We do not expect you to get everything right on the first day but you must be willing to learn, keeping your mind open to new ideas and possibilities.

“While the State would give each of you the freehand to manage the affairs of the council responsibly, it is very important to design your programmes in ways that align with the general development philosophy of the present Labour Party Administration in the State,” Otti said.


He said that the government had made deliberate efforts to create a system that would guarantee the safety of life and property in the state.


“So far, the efforts have been very fruitful because as many observers have noted, Abia has become one of the safest places to reside in, travel to or set up a thriving business enterprise,” Otti added.

See also  Abia Gov, Alex Otti Makes Fresh Appointments

He urged the newly sworn in officers to make the local communities and towns in the state to be conducive for active production and rapid economic growth.


Governor Otti said that the state government expects the TC Chairmen to quickly develop holistic frameworks for improving agriculture and light scale production in ways that would enhance outputs and attract investors to Abia.

He urged the newly sworn in officers to guard against distractions and needless power tussles as well as remain conscious of the fact that they have been called to serve the people.


In his speech, the Commissioner for Local Government and Chieftaincy Affairs, Mr Uzor Nwachukwu, said that the present administration was focused on facilitating even spread of socioeconomic growth in the local government areas.


Nwachukwu said that the TC Chairmen had been appointed based on their pedigree and added that he was confident that they would live up to expectation.


Responding on behalf of his colleagues, the TC Chairman for IsialaNgwa South LGA, Dr Nwambuisi Elelenta, thanked the government for the opportunity to serve the people of Abia.


Elelenta assured that they would discharge their duties with unwavering commitment and dedication.

The TC Chairmen include Aba North LGA: Chairman- Mr John Udeagbala, Aba South LGA: Chairman- Mr. Uchechukwu Wogu, Arochukwu LGA:Chairman- Chief Joe Eze Aru, Bende LGA: Chairman- Mr Chijioke Nwankwo, Ikwuano LGA: Chairman- Mr Osinachi Hycinth Nwaka, and Isiala Ngwa North LGA: Chairman- Mr Cyprian Nwankwo.

See also 


Others are: Isuikwuato LGA: Chairman – Air Vice Marshal Chinwendu Onyike (Rtd), Obingwa LGA:Chairman- Dr Eric Egwuibe, Ohafia LGA: Chairman- Chief David Ogba, Osisioma Ngwa LGA:Chairman- Mr Israel Nweke
,Ukwa East LGA: Chairman- Mrs Ngozi Nwagbara, Ukwa West LGA: Chairman- Mr Newman Azu, Ugwunagbo LGA:Chairman- Comrade Nosike Ihesiaba, Umuahia North LGA:Chairman- Chief Victor Ikeji, Umuahia – South LGA:
Chairman- Mr Obike Ejike Nnochiri and Umunneochi LGA:
Chairman- Mr Ndubuisi Ike.