Abia State Governor Dr. Alex Otti. 

Otti Inaugurates 23-Man Joint Open Govt Partnership Steering Committee


Abia State Governor, Dr Alex Otti has inaugurated a 23-Man Joint Open Government Partnership steering committee with a charge on them to approach the task with the seriousness it deserves.


Speaking while inaugurating the committee at Government House Umuahia, Governor Otti reminded them that their inauguration is critical to sustainable development across the state, nation and sub-Saharan Africa.


Chief of staff to the Governor, Pastor Caleb Ajagba

The Governor represented by his Chief of Staff, Pastor Caleb Ajagba while identifying accountability as a critical element for good governance, urged the committee not to undermine the efforts of government unnecessarily but point them in the right direction that will make them accountable to the citizens.

See also  Six-year Single Term For President, Governor, Others Bill Passes First Reading


He assured the steering committee members of governments support and expressed the hope that they will use the platform to help move the state forward as well as make it a reference point for good governance, accountability and purposeful governance.


From left; Mr Mike Akpara, Mr Kingsley Anosike and Mr Matthew Ekwuruibe

In their responses, the joint committee chairmen, Mr Kingsley Anosike and Mrs Priscilla Ogbonna said they will work to create and implement reforms, promote accountability, transparency and encourage citizens engagements as well as fight corruption and harness new technologies to strengthen governance.


In a vote of thanks, the Senior Special Assistant to the Governor on Ease of Doing Business, Barr. Agbonma Ukaobasi thanked Governor Otti for making the OGP thrive effectively in the state and assured that the committee will live up to expectation.

See also  Black Sunday in Aba: Police Inspector, civilians, assailant killed in gun duel.


Members of the Open Government Partnership steering committee from the flank of Government includes; Mr Kingsley Anosike – Co-chairman, Mr Mike Akpara, Mr Ikechukwu Uwanna, Mr Mathew Ekwuruibe, Sir Johnpedro Irokansi, Njum Onyemenam, Dr Mrs Ngozi Obioma, Chigbu Justina, Mercy Jimonu, Amarachukwu Obi-Ekpebeghi, Eme Orji Kalu and Barr. Agbonma Ukaobasi.


Non-State Actors includes, Mrs Priscilla Ogbonna – Co-chairperson, Pastor Innocent Nwokocha, Emmanuel Nwazue, Eunice Egbuna, Godson Ibekwe-Umelo and Dr Sunny Ibeneme.

The rest are, Wisdom Okechukwu, Gladys Ihediwanma, Peter Okoye, Chief G.U Mgborukwe and Comrade Ogbonna Okoro.

See also  Gov Otti Hands Over Land Certificate For New Federal College Of Education in Abia ...Sets Up Committee To Ensure September Take Off