Senate Receives Names of Nominees For Police Service Commission

President Bola Tinubu has sent names of three nominees for consideration and conformation for appointment as chairman, Secretary and member of the Police Service Commission (PSC).

The Senate received the names of the nominees yesterday, Thursday as the resumed for a new legislative session .

The names nominees are; Retired Deputy Inspector General of Police (DIG), Hashim Argungu (Chairman), Chief Onyema Uche (Secretary) and Retired DIG Taiwo Lakanu (member) of the PSC .

Tinubu had sacked retired Inspector General of Police, Solomon Arase, as the chairman of the commission earlier this month.

See also  I'll Leave Legacies Of Peace, Development, Not Oppression In Rivers State - Gov Fubara

This is as the PSC battles the Inspector-General of the Nigerian Police Force, Kayode Egbetokun, over what it termed interference in the recruitment of constables into service. This led to the PSC, calling on Tinubu, to sack Egbetokun.

Also , the president has urged the Senate to consider and confirm the nomination of Dr Olatunji Bello for appointment, as the Chief Executive Officer/Executive Vice Chairman of the Federal Competition and Consumer Protection Commission (FCCPC).

Bello’s nomination was referred to the Senate Committee for Trade and Investment, while that of Argungu, Uche and Lankano was referred to the Senate Committee on Police Affairs for further legislative work, to report back in one week.

See also  Dangote Foundation Moves To Invest In Bayelsa

By Sophina Ovuike, Abuja